Skip to content

Days 5, 6, & 7.

August 23, 2010

So we spent the weekend in Colorado visiting some Navy friends. Dad flew out friday to visit as well. It was a pretty good time, but I guess altitude makes you more tired. And since we’re hanging out at 6-8,000 ft., I’ve definitely been pretty tired.

So Friday I went to some random castle thing and had tea. It’s just one of those mom things. But Saturday we drove up to Pike’s peak which is the 2nd most visited mountain in the world… and I had never even heard of it. (The 1st most visited is Fuji). So we drove up the winding roads and, go figure, even with 2 dramamine I still felt like I needed to throw up. So eventually we make it to the top, (14,110 ft.), and we were CHUGGING water just to get enough oxygen in our bodies. weird eh? So we only stayed up there about 15 minutes. Long enough to take a picture, go to the bathroom, buy a postcard, and almost pass out. After that, we decided it’d probably be good if we left. I couldn’t believe it though… there were runners who were basically climbing up a mountain for miles with no oxygen. ridic. So I slept the whole way down, (since I had taken 2 dramamine). Then we went to garden of the gods… more rocks. And we finally got home, where I stayed while everyone went to some horse show. Quite an exciting weekend.

So today we got on the road again, after lots of tears from all of us when dad headed back to the airport. So we drove from Colorado Springs down to Durango, CO. And although it was a really really beautiful drive, it feels like forever on a 2 lane road when you can’t pass cars in front of you. So we took a detour to the Sand dune national park, checking 1 more off the list, and eventually made it to Durango. I have to say, it’s a pretty cool little town. Steam engines, trading posts, and really old smelly hotels. So I FINALLY got a pair of moccasins after 2 years of searching for “the ones”. So I’m pretty excited to bust those babies out soon. Other than that, it was a pretty relaxed night. And now… I’m going to bed.

Facts of the day:
338 miles, (2,091 total).
8:45am-5:40pm
Probably 100 new orange & yellow cars. Apparently they’re a big deal in CO.
0 butterflies killed.
Music of the day: Abba, Sleepless in Seattle soundtrack
Plates to still find: Delaware, Hawaii, Rhode Island, Montana. Maybe one other that I forget.

Tomorrow– Mesa Verde, the 4 corners, and eventually the grand canyon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

